1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Guest, due to a lack of interest, playerbase, and general desire to continue, PO will hereby cease our separate tiering and adopt Smogon tiers for SM. More information and updates here.

    Dismiss Notice

Pokemon Online Registry Ports

Discussion in 'Help' started by Karn1f3x, Mar 13, 2012.

Moderators: E.T., Zoroark
  1. Karn1f3x

    Karn1f3x New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone
    I've used Pokemon Online a lot while at home, but I've just started trying to get it working here at Uni. However, every time I open and go online with it, the server list is empty and I get the message 'Disconnected from the registry: Connection refused'. After asking and looking around, I have figured I need to request ports to be opened from my Uni firewall to get it to work. I can't, unfortunately, find the ports needed to connect to any server. I have opened TCP 5080 already, but I don't know what else. Can anyone help?
    Cheers
     
  2. Desolate

    Desolate Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    They probably have a firewall preventing connections to pass through TCP on port 5080, port 5080, or TCP at all. Unfortunately there's nothing you can do about it without contacting them and requesting the port/protocol to be opened and students allotted use to it. Is this the same computer you used at home to connect to PO? Has this computer ever successfully connected to PO before?
     
  3. Karn1f3x

    Karn1f3x New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the same computer, and I have connected before. The Uni firewall auto blocks all ports, and we have to request them to open them for use. I've already requested TCP 5080 to be opened, and I checked, and it has been opened, so I don't know why it's not working...
     
  4. Desolate

    Desolate Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try changing your source port on your firewall from 5080 to any, and if that doesn't work, request them to change their source port as well. Also, make sure the direction is in/out, not just one.
     
  5. Kalashnikov

    Kalashnikov Despite the code quality

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Afaik registry uses 5081 port. At least it did until recent changes.
    Also you can bypass registry completely and connect directly to desired server via Advanced Connection if you know its ip/hostname.
     
Moderators: E.T., Zoroark