1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Guest, PO has ceased our separate tiering and adopted Smogon tiers for SM. More information and updates here.

Dismiss Notice

[Final] Swanna

Discussion in 'Gen 5 NU Analyses' started by TacoBell, Oct 15, 2012.

1. TacoBell

TacoBell i'm a noob ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

On wiki

[​IMG]

==General==
    *Average offensives stats (base 87)
    *Mediocre defensive typing: 4x weak to electric & sr weak
    *frail
    *base 98 speed is pretty nice; can outspeed majority of tier
    *gets perfect coverage with its stab moves alone
    *best used in rain since surf gets boosted & hurricane becomes 100% accurate
    *is a badass duck

{{set|name=Offensive Rain Dance|pkmn=Swanna|item=Life Orb|ability=Hydration|ev= 252 Spe / 252 SAtk / 4 SDef|nature=Timid|move1=Surf|move2=Hurricane|move3=Rain Dance|move4=Roost|move42=Ice Beam}}

*timid nature is needed to outspeed stuff like haunter, rotom-s, rotom-f, sawk, etc
    *evs let it be fast and powerful as possible
    *life orb is needed since swanna needs all the power it can get
    *this set works best in rain, so rain setter for teammate is nice
    *surf is strong water type stab move
    *hurricane hits grass-types that resist surf (roselia, vileplume, etc), and is very strong
    *rain dance to set up rain: powers up surf, activates hydration, makes hurricane 100% accurate
    *roost for increased longevity (sr + lo recoil can add up quickly)
    *ice beam is an option to OHKO altaria

{{set|name=Offensive SubRoost|pkmn=Swanna|item=Life Orb|ability=Hydration|ev= 252 Spe / 252 SAtk / 4 SDef|nature=Timid|move1=Surf|move2=Hurricane|move3=Substitute|move4=Roost}}

*Substitute lets it scout moves and protect it from status (can set up on pokemon like alomomola, torkoal, etc)
    *Roost is for healing health since Sub+ LO adds up; also forms the SubRoost combo!
    *Surf and Hurricane are STAB and provide perfect coverage