1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pokemon Online for iDevices

Discussion in 'Development General' started by poatface, Nov 14, 2012.

1. poatface

poatface New Member

Hey guys! I'm a iOS programmer interested in making an iOS client for PO. I have about 4 years of experience working with iOS development, and part of that has come from creating my own battle simulator in my free time (with the intention of eventually developing a full gameboy-style Pokemon game). I really like PO, and I'd love to take it to iOS.

I've started picking apart the database, as well as your .tp files, and it looks really straightforward and easy to work with! I'm working on the Teambuilder functionality now. The route I'd take personally would be to start with 5th Gen (Wifi OU, then others) and work backwards, but I'm open to suggestions.

Any tips/hints/things I should know going forward? What all gets handled client/server side, and how should I go about communicating with PO servers? In addition, I don't know much about animation (I figure for early versions I can get away with just placing images on the screen and work towards animations later), but I'm willing to figure it out and/or work with someone who does when I get to that point.

Also, is anyone out there already working on this? I'd be happy to help, it'd be pretty silly to have two devs running their own separate paths on this.

2. coyotte508

coyotte508 Well-Known Member Administrator Server Owner Administrator Server Owner

Hey!

No one else is working on this. The network protocol is here.

We'd love to help you, if you make the source public on github it'd be a plus. If you have any specific question, don't hesitate to ask. And like you said, you can keep animations for later!

3. poatface

poatface New Member