1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Guest, PO has ceased our separate tiering and adopted Smogon tiers for SM. More information and updates here.

Dismiss Notice

[Other] Pokemon Online vs Pokemon Showdown

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Manadeel, Jan 17, 2013.

1. Manadeel

Manadeel New Member

I need help choosing between both, I like Pokemon Showdown because it's on the web and you'll easily switch tabs when you need help deciding something and since I'm new to competitive Pokemon this helps alot, but then again the community in Pokemon Showdown is horrible, so which is better?

2. Professor Oak

Professor Oak same Forum Administrator Server Owner Social Media Rep Forum Administrator Server Owner Social Media Rep

PO Trainer Name:
    Professor Oak
    Both simulators have their advantages and disadvantages. In my post, I'll be using PO to mean Pokemon Online, and PS! to mean Pokemon Showdown! Also, please note that some of my information about Pokemon Showdown! might be outdated, as I don't visit it too often. Finally, note that I am an admin here at PO, so naturally I'm going to be a bit biased towards PO. I will try to be as fair as possible under these circumstances, but I'd really like someone with a large knowledge of PS! to also answer this question to provide an alternative to my post.

The main advantage PO has over PS! are the inclusion of all Generations of play - you can play RBY, GSC, RSE (aka Advance), DPPHGSS and Black / White 2. It also includes each sub-generation for each main generation - by this I mean that it has a seperate listing for Black / White, and a seperate listing for Black 2 and White 2. PS! does have these features planned, though.