Most Up To Date Pokémon Simulator

Pokémon Online is the most popular, accurate, and complete Pokémon battle simulator out there. Open source, it's currently available in 11 languages, on your computer or your Android device. It hosts more than a million battles per month. Download the latest version and enjoy competitive battles across all six generations in real time against trainers from around the world!

Download
v 2.4.1

Countering Snorlax

Discussion in 'GSC' started by Errikos, Jun 21, 2011.

1. Errikos

Errikos New Member

Hi, I'm somewhat new to the GSC metagame on PO, but I wanted to talk about how to deal with Snorlax in battle. First, let's go over some of its key features.

Snorlax has an enormous HP stat and a great special defense stat, making it work well as a special wall. It also has a great attack stat and a number of good moves, giving it strong offense.

It has four strong movesets, ranging from sleeptalking, to cursing, to belly drumming, to being a starter.

Type-wise, its only weakness is fighting. It also has a subpar defense stat, making fighting moves a good option to use against it. Problem is, most Snorlaxes with have either rest or curse, sometimes both. Snorlax's enormous HP stat does not lend itself to be taken out quickly, so it has plenty of time to set up or heal up. Most attempts to weaken it with some kind of status effect will be in vain as it will just Rest and be rid of it.

So, what counters Snorlax? A fighting-type pokemon with a fighting-type move would damage it well, maybe enough to break through the Snorlax trying to curse/rest wall. But of course, the intention of sending a fighting-type pokemon out against a Snorlax is obvious. You'd have to have eliminated any counters to your fighting-type beforehand.

But that's just what I think. What do you guys think? How can you deal with Snorlax?
  2. Jules

Jules i make you MANGRY

3. Destiny Warrior

Destiny Warrior New Member